Jaffna Stallions win LPL 2020 final by 53 runs

Jaffna Stallions win LPL 2020 final by 53 runs
Source : Twitter

The LPL 2020 final match took place between the Jaffna Stallions and Galle Gladiators. In which the Stallions defeated Gladiators by 53 runs and lifted the LPL 2020 trophy.

Jaffna Stallions 188/6 Shoaib Malik 46(35), Thisara Perera 39(14) D Lakshan 3/36, S Arachchige 1/36

Galle Gladiators 135/9 B Rajapaksa 40(17), Azam Khan 36(17) Shoaib Malik 2/13, Usman Shinwari 2/20

Player of the Match: Shoaib Malik Player of the tournament: W Hasaranga

LPL 2020 final: Stallions set up a huge target in the 1st innings

On the day of LPL 2020 final, Stallions skipper won the much important toss and opted to bat first. The openers gave a positive start as they set up a 44 runs partnership in just 4.4 overs. Johnson Charles 26(15) was the first one to depart. Asalanka 10(9) failed yet again. On the other hand Avishka Fernando 27(23) tried to be aggressive but departed in the 8th over. Shoaib Malik and Dhananjaya de Silva later joined in and completely changed the course of the game with their partnership.

Both Malik 46(35) and De Silva 33(20) played some good shots and boosted the run rate. But it was Thisara Perera’s knock of 39(14) which helped the Stallions cross the 180 run mark. Jaffna Stallions eventually finished at 188/6. For the Gladiators D Lakshan picked 3/36 while Amir, S Arachchige and Sandakan picked 1 wicket each.

Galle Gladiators fall short by 53 runs

The target of 189 was always going to be challenging for the Gladiators. They had the worst possible start to their chase as they lost 3/7 before the end of 2nd over. D Gunathilaka 1(2), H Zazai 0(2), Ahsan Ali 6(6) failed to provide a good start to their side. But B Rajapaksa with his inning of 40(17) added some quick runs to the total and tried to neutralize the opening loss. S Jayasuriya 15(25) played a rather slow knock as he struggled to time the ball. Azam Khan 36(17) played few big shots too and kept the score board ticking.

But other than B Rajapaksa and Azam Khan, nobody got themselves going. D Lakshan 9(9), S Arachchige 17(18) and others struggled. At the end, the Gladiators were short by 53 runs. And Jaffna Stallions were titled as the champs of LPL 2020. Skipper Thisara Perera lifted the trophy for Jaffna Stallions. Shoaib Malik was received the Man of the match award for his knock. While W Hasaranga received the player of the tournament award for his outstanding performance throughout the season.

Also Read: https://www.cricdart.com/schedule-for-englands-tour-to-india-2020-21-announced/

Score Source



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here