BBL Final 2021 : Sydney Sixers Win Their 3rd Title

BBL Final 2021 : Sydney Sixers Win Their 3rd Title
source : Twitter

BBL Final 2021 : Sydney Sixers deserved the BBL 2021 title. The table toppers continued their dominance in the finals against Perth Scorchers. James Vince 95(60) was the showstopper for Sixers as Perth fell 27 runs shy of the total and the trophy.

BBL Final 2021 Brief Scores:

Sydney Sixers 188/6 (20 Overs). J Vince 95(60), Christian 20(14), Andrew Tye 2/29, Jhye Richardson 2/45.

Perth Scorchers 161/9 (20 Overs). Livingstone 45(35), C Bancroft 30(19), Ben Dwarshuis 3/37, Jackson Bird 2/14.

Man of The Match: James Vince

Man of The Tournament: Josh Philippe

Vince Takes Sixers to A Huge Total

Sydney were off to a flying start scoring 44 runs in 5 overs. Though they lost opener Philippe 9(8) cheaply, Vince held the other end. The middle order was not able to produce big scores individually, but provided enough contributions. The knocks of Hughes 13(10), Henriques 18(11) and Christian 20(14) kept the scoreboard ticking while Vince was piling runs on the other end. He was all set to score a century but fell short by 5 runs courtesy Fawad Ahmed. Jhye Richardson picked 2 wickets but was expensive as he gave away 45 runs in 4 overs. Andrew Tye and Fawad Ahmed were the other wickets takers with 2 and 1 wickets respectively. A score of 200+ was always on cards. But when Vince got out, Scorchers managed to restrict them for 188.

Sixers Defend the BBL Trophy

Openers Cameron 30(19) and Liam 45(35) gave Perth a perfect start to chase a 185+ runs target. They were cruising at 45/0 in 4.5 overs when Bird struck. He brought Sixers back in the game by striking in consecutive overs. The middle order of both teams played very much similarly. Josh 22(20), Mitchell Marsh 11(10) and Turner 11(9) made contributions but weren’t enough. Abbott and Dwarshuis became the force which derailed the middle order. Bird was the most economical giving away only 14 runs in his 3 overs. Dwarshuis and Abbott shared 5 wickets between them with the former grabbing 3. Aaron Hardie played a little cameo of 26(13) but no one was there to compliment. At the end, Vince’s knock of 95 proved to be the difference between both teams.

Alex Hales was the top run getter of the tournament with Vince right below him. While, for the bowlers, Richardson tops the charts for most wickets. Sydney Sixers now have managed to win consecutive BBL trophies while taking their total tally to 3.

Read Also : Syed mushtaq ali trophy final 2021: Tamil Nadu thrashed Baroda



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here