IPL 2020 : Delhi capitals and Kings XI Punjab Match Prediction

source : IPL/BCCI

The action now moves to the Dubai International Stadium where Delhi capitals and Kings XI Punjab will play their opening match of the Dream11 IPL 2020 edition.


Delhi capitals is the only team in the IPL to have all Indians in their top 4 which gives them the liberty to pick impact players to finish the games like Shimron Hetmyer and Alex Carey. But with Marcus Stoinis and Axar Patel being the only accomplished all-rounders in their squad, it could be difficult for Delhi to strike a balance in their team if any one of them does not perform.


Kings XI Punjab has a problem of selection when it comes to their 4 overseas pick. Do they pick Gayle or the in form Pooran who’s fresh of a 100 in the CPL! Do they pick Mujeeb who was the 2nd highest wicket taker in the CPL or Sheldon Cottrell or Chris Jordan who is one of the best death bowlers in the game. These choices could well define their path in this year’s IPL.


One of the most celebrated players of the IPL in UAE is Glenn Maxwell. It will be interesting to see whether Punjab hands him the number 4 slot or the finisher role. Maxwell had a mixed T20 series in England but he blossomed with his match winning 100 in the last ODI.

Ravi Bishnoi, India’s leading wicket taker in the U19 world cup, could come out with flying colors under the guidance of Anil Kumble and the spin friendly pitches of UAE.

The exciting left-hand pace bowler Daniel Sams was the highest wicket taker in the last BBL season. Till now in the BBL, he has taken 52 wickets in just 37 matches with an economy of 8 RPO.

Delhi capitals and Kings XI Punjab PREDICTED XI

DELHI CAPITALS: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(wk), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer/ Alex Carey, Axar Patel, Ravi Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Daniel Sams/Anrich Nortje, Ishant Sharma

KINGS XI PUNJAB: KL Rahul(c,wk),Chris Gayle/Nicholas Pooran, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Glenn Maxwell, Sarfaraz Khan/Mandeep Singh, K Gowtham, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Ravi Bishnoi, Chris Jordan/Sheldon Cottrell, Mohammad Shami

DATE: 20th September(Sunday)

PLACE: Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

TIME: 7:30pm (IST)

Also Read:

Can skipper KL Rahul guide KXIP towards their maiden IPL title?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here