Pakistan beat New Zealand in last T20I, NZ win series by 2-1

Pakistan beat New Zealand in last T20I, NZ win series by 2-1
source : twitter

In the final T20I of the series between New Zealand and Pakistan. Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 4 wickets with 2 balls to spare. But NZ win the series by 2-1.

New Zealand: 173/7 Conway 63(45), Tim Seifert 31(20) Faheem Ashraf 3/20, Shaheen Afridi 2/43

Pakistan: 177/6 Mohd Rizwan 89(59), Mohammed Hafeez 41(29) Tim Southee 2/25, Scott Kuggeleijn 2/40

Man of the Match: Mohammed Rizwan Man of the Series: Tim Seifert

Conway scores big for New Zealand as they post a score of 173/7.

In the final T20I match of the series, Pakistan skipper won the toss and opted to bowl first. New Zealand had a decent start as the 1st wicket gave a partnership of 40 runs. But they lost few quick wickets in the next few overs. Martin Guptill 19(16), Kane Williamson 1(4) and Tim Seifert 35(20) were the first 3 to get out. At this stage the score board read 58/3. But Conway and Glenn Phillips joined in and engaged themselves in a good partnership. They took the score board ahead of the 100 run mark in the 13th over.

But Glenn Phillips 31(20) departed in the next over. Jimmy Neesham 2(4) and Scott Kuggeleijn 14(6) didn’t last long. But Conway with his knock of 63(45) took the score to a defendable total. New Zealand eventually finished at 173/7. Faheem Ashraf picked 3 wickets while Shaheen Afridi and Haris Rauf picked 2 wickets each.

Mohammed Rizwan plays a brilliant knock to help Pakistan win the final T20I.

Chasing the target of 174, Pakistan lost Haider Ali 11(9) early. But Mohammed Rizwan 89(59) and Mohammed Hafeez 41(29) joined in after the fall of the first wicket. And both of them played some aggressive shots as they took advantage of the powerplay. The Duo added a partnership of around 72 runs. And literally took away the game from New Zealand. But Mohammed Hafeez got out at the score of 41 in the 13th over.

The next few batsmen Khushdil 13(10), Faheem Ashraf 2(3) and Shadab Khan 0(1) got out in quick succession. New Zealand bowlers had brought themselves back in the game. But for Pakistan Mohammed Rizwan was still out there. And he stayed there till the last over and made things easier for Pakistan. He got out with just 5 runs required to victory for Pakistan. Pakistan eventually chased the target with 2 balls to spare and won the match by 4 wickets. But New Zealand won the series by 2-1. Tim Southee and Scott Kuggeleijn picked 2 wickets each for New Zealand.

Mohammed Rizwan was picked as Man of the match while Tim Seifert was picked for the Man of the series award. NZ win the series by 2-1.

Also Read:

Score Source



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here